CALL FOR LOW LIVES 4

LOW LIVES 4
International Festival of Live Networked Performances

CALL CLOSED


Event Dates: 27, 28 April 2012

Open call for proposals
Deadline: 25 March 2012

www.lowlives.net
lowlives4@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL CALL FOR PROPOSALS

Now entering its fourth year, Low Lives is an international festival of live performance-based works transmitted via the internet and projected in real time at multiple venues throughout the U.S. and around the world. Low Lives examines works that critically investigate, challenge, and extend the potential of performance practice presented live through online broadcasting networks. These networks provide a new alternative and efficient medium for presenting, viewing, and archiving performances. Artists working in any media are invited to submit proposals for live performance-based works.

Selection Process:
Each Presenting Partner (see list below) will follow their curatorial process to select one performance to take place at their venue. In addition, 36 artists will be selected from artist proposals responding to this Call for Artists, and will be invited to present their work across the Low Lives network. These performances will be transmitted through the internet from a location of the artists’ choice. The Selections Committee will be comprised of Directors and Curators from Presenting Partner institutions and Low Lives’ production team.

Artists selected to participate in this exhibition will be instructed on how to transmit their performance through a live online broadcasting network. Performances will be projected in real time across the Low Lives 4 network of Presenting Partners and venues. The exhibit will also be available for online viewing, both in real time as it unfolds across political boundaries and time zones, and on the Low Lives website after the event.

A full-color catalog and companion DVD with information and an image for each participating artist will be produced for Low Lives 4 after the exhibition takes place. Artists interested in participating in Low Lives 4 are encouraged to visit www.lowlives.net to view previous Low Lives exhibition catalogs and performance videos.

Presenting Partners:*
United States
Aljira, A Center for Contemporary Art (Newark, New Jersey) www.aljira.org
Center for Performance Research (CPR) (Brooklyn, New York) www.cprnyc.org
Chez Bushwick (Brooklyn, New York) www.chezbushwick.net
Diaspora Vibe Gallery (Miami, Florida) www.diasporavibe.net
Fusebox Festival (Austin, Texas) www.fuseboxfestival.com
Legion Arts (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) www.legionarts.org
Little Berlin (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) www.littleberlin.org
Living Arts (Tulsa, Oklahoma) www.livingarts.org
Mascher Space Co-op (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) www.mascherdance.com
Portland Institute for Contemporary Art (PICA) (Portland, Oregon) www.pica.org
Real Art Ways (Harford, Connecticut) www.realartways.org
SOMArts (San Francisco, California) www.somarts.org
Space One Eleven (Birmingham, Alabama) www.spaceoneeleven.org
Spread Art (Brooklyn, New York) www.spreadart.org
Utah Museum of Fine Arts (UMFA) (Salt Lake City, Utah) www.umfa.utah.edu
Mexico
La Periferia (Merida, Mexico) www.galerialaperiferia.com
Trinidad & Tobago
Alice Yard (Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago) www.aliceyard.blogspot.com
Japan
the temporary space (Japan) www.thetemporaryspace.com
France
Dimanche Rouge (Paris, France) www.dimancherouge.wordpress.com
Colombia
Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Bogotá (MAC) (Colombia) www.mac.org.co
Australia
At The Vanishing Point (Sydney, Australia) www.atthevanishingpoint.com.au
Canada
Eventual Ashes (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) www.eventualashes.com

*This list includes Presenting Partners who are confirmed as of 2/1/12. Additional Presenting Partners may be added before the event date.

Submission Requirements (Note: Incomplete applications will not be considered):
Artists can submit written proposals for previously created works or new work to be considered. There are no criteria as to the subject/theme of the work.

Include in your submission:
- Artist Statement
- Artist Bio
- CV or Resume
- Links to artist website/s or other related web destinations
- Up to 4 jpeg images that support your proposal
- Location (City, State, Country) where you plan to transmit your performance

Note:
- Only proposals for live performances will be considered
- Duration of proposed works must not exceed 5 minutes

Email complete materials to lowlives4@gmail.com with Low Lives 4 Submission in the subject line.

Eligibility:
In an effort to allow the Low Lives platform to include as many artists as possible, artists who participated in Low Lives 3 are not eligible to participate in Low Lives 4. Artists who participated in Low Lives 1 and 2 are eligible to participate in Low Lives 4.

Important Dates:
March 25: Submission deadline
April 1: Artists notified on selection
April 27: Low Lives 4- Day 1 – 8:30pm – 11:30pm (U.S. EST)
April 28: Low Lives 4- Day 2 – 3:00pm – 6:00pm (U.S. EST)